Newsletter Bonus

Click HERE to pick up Quickshot for free.

Tuesday, 22 October 2013

If you Like That...Try this... #sfr #scifi #romance

You know how if you read or watch something that you really like, and you want more? But it's the last of the series, or a one-off, or if there just isn't more? Sucks, doesn't it? So, some of us decided that this week we'd do some posts to help you out. We've drawn on books, films and TV series, picking the things we like, and then tried to give you some titles we think are similar, and tags about why - what elements tie them together. Hopefully we've given you some great alternatives to try out. Here we go...

If you like Doctor Who/Torchwood, try - Kicking Ashe by Pauline Baird Jones, Keir by Pippa Jay (adventures in time and space, some romance, aliens, technology), Tin Cat by Misa Buckley (time traveller)


















If you like Hunger Games, try - Alien Blood by Melisse Aires (survival of the fittest, game show, romance)

If you like Star Wars, try - The Iron Admiral by Greta van der Rol (space opera, space battles) or Gethyon by Pippa Jay (scifi adventure, technology, light against dark, young hero)

If you like Star Trek, try - Nebula's Music by Aubrie Dionne, Ambasadora and Greenshift by Heidi Ruby Miller














If you like Star Trek: Deep Space Nine, try - Unknown Futures by Jessica E Subject (space station, romance, technology, aliens) or Terms & Conditions Apply by Pippa Jay (space station, androids, aliens)

If you like superhero stories (Superman, Batman, Avengers, Agents of SHIELD etc) try - Blaze of Glory by Sheryl Nantus (superheroes, alien invaders) Super Zero by Rhonda Stapleton or Even Villains Fall in Love by Liana Brooks (superheroes, evil mastermind)

If you like Bladerunner/Matrix, try - Unacceptable Risk by Jeanette Grey (gritty cyberpunk, technology, dystopian) or Jaq's Harp by Ella Drake (gritty biopunk).














If you like Fifth Element, try - The Girls From Alcyone by Cary Caffrey

If you like Space Above and Beyond, try - Made for Her by Jessica Subject (military, clones)

If you like Starman, try - Celestial Seduction by Jessica E Subject, Star 
 Attraction by Misa Buckley (love with a visiting alien)













And please feel free to make suggestions in the comments. Enjoy!

If you're looking for more suggestions, head on over to The Galaxy Express, where a master list of other bloggers taking part in the If You Like event.

3 comments:

  1. This was such a good idea--my reading list keeps growing! Thank you for including the AMBASADORA books, Pippa!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you for the mentions, Pippa! Now I have more books to add to my reading list. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thank you for the mentions!
    And my, but there is a lot of pretty in this post.

    ReplyDelete

I always love to hear your thoughts.